When you are getting things done. Since I have posted last there have been several new happenings on Smiling J Farm. Besides the usual laundry, cleaing and meal preparation that is. . . And of course working suring the day. Boy when do we have time to farm?
Well, we better find some time soon! Well, let me “back up 77-steps”. (I had a teacher once who said that at least once a day; it drove us nuts!) Over the weekend I had two “sings” that good things were onthe horizon for us. Okay, I’m not sure I beleive it signs, so it must have been a meteor shower or something.
Saturday the dogs got me up at the almost usual time of 0430 (that’s 4:30 AM for civilians). So I took them out to take care of business. I was sort of tired and just sat down onthe bench that is described in an earlier post. From that vantage point I could see the Big Dipper as bright as anything. but not much else for the tree branches. As I was staring up a meteor shot down from the left of it. It was big enough I didn’t have to ask myself if I really saw it.
Later that day we came to terms with someone through a broker to sell the boat! A bitter sweet hurrah was all I could muster. however it was a really good thing since the next day we had another good thing. . .
Sunday the boys (Auggie and Thomas) got me up again. Of course this time they didn’t know it was only 0315 instead of after 4. One of these days I need to teach them to read the clock . . . Anyway, out we went and to the bench I went. There it was Big Dip was right where he was supposed to be. But again I saw another shooting star! Okay those star gazers are going to tell me about some meteor shower that was in that area. (It’s okay you can correct me, Big Sister. I don’t mind!) Anyway, that was another sign. . . Or was it?
During the day (Sunday) we got an e-mail from the lady we are buying the 4 heifers from. She and her husband are selling their farm and business and are moving to TN. As is practical they would like the same buyer for both. But it turns out the original buyer can only take the farm. We have first “dibs” on the gradd-fed beef business.
Is that something? Two faling stars and two good things in the same weekend. Something like that has never happened to me before. Could it be that it’s because I can see more stars from this ridge? Or could it be that we have now found our “calling” a bit later than others? I don’t know. But I still like that bench!